PJ White, chief of Wildlife and Aquatic Resources at Yellowstone National Park, was recently honored for his conservation work.

The Northern Rockies Conservation Cooperative presented the 2019 Craighead Conservation Award and Raynes Citizen Conservation Award to him during the Jackson Hole Wildlife Symposium on March 8.

White has researched all the major mammals in greater Yellowstone and has worked to find solutions that help wildlife and humans coexist. He is the author of more than 125 scientific papers and many popular books, including “Can’t Chew the Leather Anymore,” “Musings on Wildlife Conservation in Yellowstone from a Broken-down Biologist” and “Yellowstone Grizzly Bears, Ecology and Conservation of an Icon of Wildness.”

Former park superintendent Dan Wenk said, “PJ was ahead of the curve to answer questions that I as a manager didn’t yet know I needed.”

The Craighead Conservation Award was established in 2003 to honor the legacy of Frank and John Craighead. Nominees should have significantly impacted wildlife conservation in the greater Yellowstone region and demonstrated the dedicated spirit of the Craighead brothers through years of service in wildlife research, management, community involvement and policy.

Frank and John Craighead were prolific wildlife researchers, writers and filmmakers, best known for their pioneering grizzly bear research, but active in other conservation realms as well. The award was presented by conservationist brothers Lance and Charlie Craighead.

The Raynes Citizen Conservation Award recipient was Susan Marsh. Marsh has worked in greater Yellowstone for the U.S. Forest Service and as a volunteer with many community organizations. She is an artist and writer of numerous essays and books including “A Hunger for High Country” and “Cache Creek: A Trailside Guide to Jackson Hole’s Backyard Wilderness.” Her monthly column, “Back to Nature,” is published in MountainJournal.org. Marsh has quietly worked to protect the natural wonders of Jackson Hole and shares her knowledge.

The award was created to honor the ongoing legacy of Bert Raynes and the late Meg Raynes. Nominees shall have worked in the spirit of the legacy of the Rayneses to encourage citizen science and conservation, and make a positive difference in conservation through actions they undertake in their daily lives.

The award was presented by Frances Clark (Nature Mapping JH, WY Native Plant Society) and Linda Merigliano (Bridger-Teton National Forest).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.