After months of buildup, the policy known as CKA became a rule last Thursday without fanfare.

Only two people spoke, both in favor of the rule. In addition to a two-year review, trustees were required to make the policy a rule after a change in the state statute.

The review the concerning concealed carry rule for Cody School District employees had been ongoing for several months. That’s why board chair Brandi Nelson said she thinks the final passage of the rule wasn’t as divisive as it was two years ago when it was proposed: all the comments had already been made.

“The board was very proactive,” she said. “We had multiple meetings. There was plenty of opportunity for public input.”

That isn’t to say there wasn’t debate over the new rule. In the spring, the trustees discussed who should and should not be eligible to carry, including lay coaches (coaches not employed by the district in another capacity, such as being a teacher) and bus drivers.

While lay coaches ultimately were not removed from the list of eligible concealed carry candidates, bus drivers were after trustees voiced concern over the difficulty of ensuring a driver had the weapon properly concealed and secured at all times.

Another major change came from the State of Wyoming, amending its statutes to allow not only contracted staff but any district employee to carry on school grounds with the proper training.

Coupled with that change, the board decided to increase the required length of time staff be with the district from two to five consecutive years to apply, though it also included the possibility of making an exception to that rule.

New to the rule is a requirement for staff to annually re-certify and receive refresher training on the use of their weapon. Board members also cleaned up the language around what handguns can be used.

Though there were in total some 740 revisions to the five-page policy, the vast majority of those revisions were minor tweaks to spelling, grammar and organization.

To date, the rule has cost the district just under $11,000, nearly all of which came in the first year it was enacted. In the 2019-2020 budget year, the district spent just $256.25 on the rule, which Superintendent Peg Monteith said was due to there being fewer applicants.

(6) comments

Jim Jones

Why should any school district employee be subject to any more rules than any Wyoming resident in order to carry? I applied for and received a concealed carry permit 20 years ago, six months after moving to Cody. I am not required to take any additional training to renew my permit and currently I don't even need a permit to carry concealed. I've been carrying everyday for nineteen years and six months. I've been in crowds and among children. I haven't shot anybody including myself or ever experienced an accidental discharge. If I get a job as a school bus driver, how exactly does that make me a danger to anyone any more than I am now? The lack of common sense is extreme.

Politically Incorrect

When asked the board could produce no examples of bus drivers being incapable of securing their weapon. Its truly sad that this board decided that some of the hardest working employees in our school system were not to be trusted under this rule. The board knows full well these drivers would lay down their lives for the kids on their bus and instead of giving them the same means to protect those kids as employees in classrooms chose not to do so. Especially on school trips across this vast state when help may be over an hour away it's up to the drivers to keep our kids safe. Its a shame the board doesn't respect that.

Trex

Time is coming soon to vote them out.

Jim Jones

You don't have to drive across Wyoming to experience law enforcement response times of more than an hour in Park County. Just take a look at the number of deputies and troopers on duty and the number of square miles they cover.

Joe Battin

“The board was very proactive,” she said. “We had multiple meetings. There was plenty of opportunity for public input.” Hmmm... unlike the tennis coach situation. Time to go!

BT

The requirement for 18 hours of annual recurrent training is not new at all. It is unchanged from the original Policy CKA passed in 2018. The enabling state statute (W.S. 21-3-132) also mandates annual training.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.